Baldur's Gate 3 preload details and download size

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
The character in Baldur's Gate 3
Credit: Larian Studios
August 2, 2023: With the game leaving early access in just a few short days, check out how to preload Baldur's Gate 3 here!

If you want to dive into the new game by Larian Studios as quickly as possible, you should definitely know the Baldur’s Gate 3 preload details and download size. We’ll tell you how much space you need to have ready to install the game on your device and when you can start downloading it.

Baldur's Gate 3 is a really big RPG and you should expect it to take up a lot of space. Make sure that you’ll start downloading it on time!

If you are looking for more information about this game, make sure to check our guide on how to remove dead party members in Baldur's Gate 3. Also, we've got an article on how to move objects in Baldur’s Gate 3, as well as our Baldur's Gate 3 class tier list.

What is Baldur’s Gate 3 download size?

According to the Baldur's Gate 3 page on Steam, the game will take up about 150 GB. Yes, this number is huge, but the game is an RPG with lots of plot twists and different events that are based on the choices you make during your playthrough. So, such a large size is reasonable, so make sure you have a lot of space if you want to install Baldur’s Gate 3.

Multiple characters in Baldur's Gate 3
click to enlarge
Credit: Larian Studios

Baldur’s Gate 3 preload details

Unfortunately, it seems that fans can’t preload Baldur's Gate 3 just yet. At least, this option has not been mentioned so far.

However, the game has an Early Access version and if you have it on your device, it will speed up the download process. You will already have a good part of the game installed, which means that you will need to spend less time downloading the rest.

Baldur’s Gate 3 release times

There is a Twitter post that shows a map with all Baldur’s Gate 3 release times marked on it. Here’s a list of all of them:

  • Los Angeles - August 3, 8 AM
  • New York - August 3, 11 AM
  • Quebec - August 3, 11 AM
  • Rio De Janeiro - August 3, 12 PM
  • Dublin - August 3, 4 PM
  • Gent - August 3, 5 PM
  • Kuala Lumpur - August 3, 11 PM
  • Tokyo - August 4, 12 AM
  • Sydney - August 4, 1 AM
  • Auckland - August 4, 3 AM

If you know the exact launch time of the game, you’ll be able to download it to your device as soon as possible. We hope our article helped you with Baldur’s Gate 3 and its installation. Good luck with your adventures and battles in the world of Faerûn!

If you want to read more guides, please check our article on how to change name in Baldur’s Gate 3. We've also got a look at whether you can become a vampire in Baldur's Gate 3.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Guides and Baldur's Gate page.